Tuesday, March 26, 2013

Reboot by Amy Tintera

Posted by Angel kk at Tuesday, March 26, 2013

Review 
Reboot takes another look at the ever popular life after death trend that is currently surfacing in  YA fiction.


The story is set in a world that has gone into complete lock down in the wake of a  virus that will not only kills you but will bring you back to life after. A virus which appears to have torn the world apart.  

The government solution to take possession of any and all children who reboot and turn them into the ideal police force. The key being the longer they are dead the less human the are. This was always the cass for  our leading Reboot 178 - Wren. She has always followed orders and done what she is told never questioning her duty or the life she lives. That is until the new batch of reboots arrive and change the course of her life.

Reboot challenges the stereotype idea of the rotting corpses and brain eating,  zombies .  However what  does remain is the underlining idea that as humans we are not invisible and that we have a natural fear of the unknown and the concept of life after death

Wren was a great character and it was great to see a female lead that was  confident in her abilities. Yet venerable when it came to interpersonal relationships and thinking about herself as a girl. She was very easy to relate to in that sense .

I ended up really enjoying  Reboot. By the end I found myself wondering if I could reboot would I want to?

Overall, I think it is a  great read and  will  fit in well  with audiences right now because it fits into the dystopian theme that is popular.

Story Line 
In this fast-paced dystopian thrill ride, a seventeen-year-old girl rises from the dead as a Reboot and is trained as an elite crime-fighting soldier . . . until she is given an order she refuses to obey.

Five years ago, Wren Connolly was shot three times in the chest. After 178 minutes, she came back to life as a Reboot—stronger, faster, able to heal, but less emotional. The longer Reboots are dead, the less human they are when they return, making Wren 178 the deadliest Reboot in the Republic of Texas.

Callum 22, on the other hand, is practically still human. He's the worst trainee Wren has ever had—his reflexes are too slow, he's always asking pesky questions, and his ever-present smile is freaking her out. Yet he's still her newbie. When Callum fails to measure up to Reboot standards, Wren is told to eliminate him. Wren has never disobeyed before, but she'll do whatever it takes to save Callum's life.

The perfect soldier is done taking orders. Wren's captivating voice and unlikely romance with Callum will keep readers glued to the page in Amy Tintera's high-stakes alternate reality ideal for fans of The Hunger Games, Legend, and Divergent.



Rating: 7.5 out of 10 
Book: Reboot  
Author:Amy Tintera
Release date: June 2013

0 comments:

Post a Comment

 

Paranormal Angel Blog Copyright © 2012 Design by Antonia Sundrani Vinte e poucos